Deborah Lippman Cleopatra in New York Swatch and Review (for Daniela)

Today I am stuck in CLE, which, for non-lawyers, is a required all day thing where you sit and pretend to listen to people drone on about legal things. So it was a perfect day to run outside at each sweet breath of freedom and paint a hand and take some pictures. My friend Daniela has asked me to do a swatch for Deborah Lippman’s Cleopatra in New York, so I started there. Cleopatra is a black polish with large gold suspended glitter. To me it screams old Hollywood glamour – Grace Kelly, not Lindsay Lohan.

Image

With one coat, there was very little coverage from the black part of the polish, but a lot of glitter. (I should have taken a picture at this point, but I was furtively outside with a bottle of polish remover and a bottle of polish and was trying to do this before somebody thought I was sneaking out hunched over lines or something. Also I didn’t really get a chance to do a cleanup on the edges.) On went coat two. I didn’t have full coverage yet with the black, but was now drowning in glitter, and was already thinking, “since I’m not at home, how in the world am I going to remove this to do the next set of swatches Daniela wanted at the next break?!” I was glittered out – but could still see through the black in a few places. I also was getting an increasingly pitted finish that was going to require a good bit of top coat to smooth out.

Image

I stopped the madness, and had a revelation. This is a beautiful color if used correctly, and I think the correct way is like Orly Glam FX – it needs to be layered over a black base, like Orly Liquid Vinyl. This both saves the precious ($18 a bottle) Deborah Lippman, and lets you get a coat with less gold glitter in it – the glitter as an accent rather than the glitter as the main event and a little black peeping through. Of course, you could layer two coats of Cleopatra over a black base and have full coverage with more gold.

I didn’t have a problem with even glitter on this polish; it was easy to get a more or less equal amount of glitter out each time the brush went into the bottle.  Cleopatra in New York is available from Norstrom or from Deborah Lippman.

One thought on “Deborah Lippman Cleopatra in New York Swatch and Review (for Daniela)

  1. Pingback: Updated DL Cleopatra in New York Swatch | Polish, Polish, Polish!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

